Parenthood

As a new parent you are often inundated with mountains of information on parenting practices, philosophies, orientations, and whatnot, that often conflict and can leave you feeling mixed up and very confused.  It is easy to get overwhelmed and stressed out which really only makes things worse.  The best piece of advice I was given regarding parenthood, was to simply enjoy every minute of it.  Time moves by so quickly and each stage has its unique pleasures and challenges.  Once it is gone, it is often missed, but soon replaced by new found joys and wonderment.  My favorite part of being a parent thus far is seeing the world through my baby’s eyes.  Everything is so fresh and new and fit to be examined, analyzed, and pondered.

I decided to create this blog to help me define, invent, re-invent, and finesse my own parenting practices, and document this journey, sharing any wisdom or knowledge I’ve accrued along the way.  If there’s a phrase that captures the essence of the kind of parent I want to be, it is a Mindful Muslim Mommy.  When you google the definition of mindfulness this comes up:

mind·ful·ness
ˈmīn(d)f(ə)lnəs/
noun
noun: mindfulness
  1. 1.
    the quality or state of being conscious or aware of something.
    “their mindfulness of the wider cinematic tradition”
  2. 2.
    a mental state achieved by focusing one’s awareness on the present moment, while calmly acknowledging and accepting one’s feelings, thoughts, and bodily sensations, used as a therapeutic technique.

I borrow a little bit of both as I want to be an intentional, purposeful, principled, and conscientious parent, as well as a calm, emotionally intelligent, relaxed, living in the moment kind of parent.  I work as a school psychologist in a public school so there will be unavoidable tidbits of psychology imbued throughout.  I’m looking forward to hearing about other people’s thoughts ideas, and experiences in parenthood as well!

Leave a Reply

