Writing Rules

I came across this today.  Its an author’s ten rules of writing.  I found them to be helpful in that it motivated me to write this entry today.  I think it’s good to have a set of rules to follow.  The most important ingredient that makes up a writer is discipline.  What better way to become more disciplined in my writing practice than adopt and make my own set of rules?

  1. I know that everyone always tells you should write every day, but I like that a specific goal of 150 words was suggested.  I’ve been thinking a lot about word counts lately as I’ve been creating content for blogging jobs I have/am trying to get, where being mindful of word count is important.  150 words is a very reasonable and attainable goal.  Therefore it is my first rule.
  2. My favorite piece of advice: “…that one should write a short story each week for a whole year. Why? ‘It’s not possible to write 52 bad short stories in a row.'”  In the case of this blog, I will aim to write a minimum of one blog entry a week for a whole year.
  3.  My time of day seems to be evenings, when my baby has fallen asleep and I finally have some peace of mind, time to relax, and the quiet to let the thoughts that have been drifting in my head all day settle and solidify.
  4. I agree that exercise and walking is important, but I can’t always get up and leave with a baby around, so I won’t set myself up for failure but making it a rule.  One thing that helps whenever I’m feeling mentally stuffy is going out on my balcony to read or drink tea.   So this will serve as my writers block antidote, when I cannot commit to a walk or exercising.  Getting outside and/or sipping tea will hopefully, help get me “in the zone”.

I liked the advice about finishing one thing before starting something else.  I often find it difficult to finish reading any books when I read more than 2 or 3 at a time.  It is much easier and quicker to get through them sequentially rather than concurrently.  This did not make the list though, since it is relevant mainly to longer writing projects.

This is a work in progress, so if I discover new rules or strategies along the way I’ll incorporate them into my writing routine.  Am interested in knowing what works for others.

Leave a Reply

