The Happiness Project

I’m about halfway through The Happiness Project, the June book club choice for a book club I’m in.  It’s quite inspiring and motivating.  I love a recurring theme in the book of how doing a little every day goes a long way – it truly keeps things from getting overwhelming.  I’ve been chipping away at cleaning or “attacking clutter” a bit every day during the week so it doesn’t get out of control.  I no longer have to kill a full weekend day playing catch-up and then have to recover from the exhaustion of a marathon cleaning session.  Its great to enjoy the weekends entirely and it doesn’t take too much effort.  I think it’s especially important now that I have a 9 month old son.  Having everything clean and in its place helps makes mornings run more smoothly.

She has a few other gems of wisdom.  Like “What you do every day matters more than what you do once in a while.”  I have to establish better habits.  I get better and better each year, more efficient, more organized – but there’s always room for growth and new challenges to overcome.  She gives a lot of practical advice and examples of rules and habits she created to help simplify her life and get more out of her time.  I love how she tackles different aspects of her life and searches for ways to make them better.  The amount of self-reflection and research she did to bring about the multitude of personal changes is admirable.

I’m tempted to start my own summertime “Happiness Project”.  Summer is a the ideal time for me to do it since I’m off from work and will have massive amounts of free time.  I will have to think it out and plan it well in the next two weeks.  I’ll keep you posted.  Has anyone started their own happiness project?  I’d love to hear about it.  What advice would you give?

Leave a Reply

